Article by Maria Wetzel, summer 2026 intern
In the heart of the scenic Endless Mountains, The Oldest House offers a journey back in time for visitors exploring Laceyville, PA. Primarily serving as a family home from the 1780s until 1976, the building is now owned and maintained by the Laceyville Area Historical Society. The museum earned its name because it is believed to be one of the oldest frame dwellings standing in northeastern PA.

Settled along Main Street, Laceyville’s Oldest House greets its guests with a charming and homey impression. Upon entering, you are surrounded by artifacts that are rich with history. Photographs, paintings, quilts, books, cutlery and clothing fill the rooms with a narration of the past. There are three floors to explore, each room offering its own unique story.

The kitchen is both beautifully decorated and teeming with impressive relics. One wall holds a collection of photographs of the house throughout the years, demonstrating its life across decades and owners. Across the room lives an authentic newspaper from 1799 containing one of the first announcements of George Washington’s death. It is an excerpt from The Connecticut Courant, given by friends of the house.

Magnificent quilts adorn the walls throughout the first floor, each presenting a rare glimpse into past traditions. There are two red work quilts displayed, each one a unique mosaic of embroidered patterns. The individual squares were created by friends and family, eventually hooked together to create the final product, and gifted to the recipients. One of the quilts was made for Mr. and Mrs. J.O. Hogeboom, and the other for Mr. and Mrs. M.C. Lacey.

The dining room holds the Parson’s Closet, containing three ornately decorated bibles. Once a month, the parson would travel through town, often leaving a bible and other supplies at the house.

Upon entering the basement, the impressive framework of the building is clearly visible. The fireplace stands proudly in the center, previously a vital source of heat for the house. It was the first structure built when the dwelling was constructed, and it is actually two-sided. Visitors can walk around the stone structure and observe the other side, which bears a second opening.

On the top floor, authentic vintage clothing transports you back in time. A wedding gown from 1863 is displayed in one of the bedrooms. The dress is brown and blue taffeta trimmed in velvet, a typical design for that period. The bedroom down the hall holds a baseball uniform from the early 1900s, made from wool and complete with quilted knees. The uniform came to The Oldest House from the nearby town of Silvara, where it was worn in many exciting baseball games.

In the bedrooms, historically accurate beds illustrate the sleeping conditions that were common in previous decades. One of the rooms contains a rope bed with a wooden crank, which was used to tighten the bed when it began to sag. A metal frame resides within the second bedroom, its own metal crank accessible at the foot of the bed.
How to Visit Laceyville’s Oldest House

Guided tours of The Oldest House are offered each weekend in May through Labor Day weekend, or can be scheduled by appointment. Informed and welcoming tour guides are eager to share their knowledge and kindness with the guests who stop in for a historic escape. Visit Laceyville’s Oldest House on Saturday and Sunday from 1:00pm to 4:00pm to uncover the history, maps, books, genealogy, and period clothing the museum has to offer.
